Press Release #09

Palikir, POHNPEI (4th FSM Con-Con) – The 4th FSM Constitutional Convention reconvened this morning February 24, 2020 in the FSM Congress Chamber in Palikir, Pohnpei to continue review of the FSM Constitution. The plenary session kicked-off at around 10:00A.M.  after a one month break in which the delegates returned to their respective states to do consultations on the proposed amendments that were introduced before the recess.

 “I welcome you all back to Palikir to our Convention, to continue our deliberation on the proposed amendments that we’ve been tasked to do pursuant to Public Law 21-19,”said President Killion in his opening statement.

“I trust that all of us have had success in our engagement with our people throughout our nation during these past 30 days. These discussions have been very useful in dealing with the proposed amendments that we have introduced so far during the first part of our Convention as well as those that maybe introduced during the remaining days of our Convention,” he added.

President Killion went on to thanked the FSM President David W. Panuelo and his administration for the continue support that they have provided to the Convention, especially the  funding  request to Congress in the amount of $776,000.00 that was appropriated to conclude the Convention. He also thanked the 21st FSM Congress for their generous support in enacting the appropriation to enable the 4th FSM Constitutional Convention to conclude their work.

In closing, President Killion thanked all the citizens, especially those people that the Delegates have visited throughout the nation and discussed the proposed amendments with.

During today’s plenary session, one more proposal has been added to the proposed amendments. It’s Delegation Proposal No. CC-Pr-4-63, a proposed amendment which seeks to amend Article X, Section 1,4,5, and 6 of the Constitution to provide for direct election of the President and Vice President. This proposal was introduced by Delegate Asterio Takesy of Chuuk and has been assigned to the Committee on Government Structure and Function, chaired by Delegate Victor Nabeyan of Yap.