Press Release No.1

Palikir, POHNPEI (4th FSM Concon) – The delegates for the 4th FSM Constitutional Convention assembled at the FSM Congress Chamber in Palikir, Pohnpei to convene the 4th FSM Constitutional Convention that started on the 7th of January and will adjourn on the 22nd of January 2020.

Representing the State of Chuuk for this convention are: for the At-large seat, delegate -elect Hon. Redley Killion, for the Election District No.1 or the Mortlocks, delegate-elect Hon. Peter Sitan and delegate-elect Hon. Marcus Samo. For the Election District No.2 or the Northern Namoneas, delegate -elect Hon. Camillo Noket and delegate- elect Hon. Nickson M. Bossy. For Election District No. 3 or the Southern Namoneas, delegate -elect Hon. Jack S. Fritz and delegate-elect  Hon. Myron I. Hashiguchi. Representing Chuuk State Election District No. 5 or the Northwest Islands, delegate-elect Hon. James A. Naich and delegate-elect Hon. Asterio R. Takesy.

For the State of Kosrae, representing the At-Large seat is delegate- elect Hon. Johnson A. Asher and for the Kosrae State Election District No.1 are delegate -elect Hon. Yoslyn G. Sigrah and delegate -elect Hon. Canney L. Palsis. Representing the State of Pohnpei for the At-Large seat is delegate -elect His Majesty Iso Nahnken Salvador Iriarte. Representing Election District No. 1 are delegate-elect Hon. Akillino H. Susaia and delegate -elect Hon. Tendy Tesiwo Liwy. For Election District No.2 or Madolenihmw and Kitti are delegate-elect Hon. Berney Martin and delegate -elect Hon. Saimon Salomon. Representing Election District No.3 or U, Nett, Mwoakiloa and Pingelap are delegates -elect Hon. Mason Albert and Hon. Ricky F. Cantero.

During deliberations and organization, Delegate  Redley Killion of Chuuk was elected President of the 4th FSM Constitutional Convention. Elected Vice President is delegate Iso Nahnken Salvador Iriarte of Pohnpei. Elected Floor Leader is delegate Andrew Yatilman of Yap and delegate. Johnson A. Asher of Kosrae was elected Chairman of the Committee of the Whole.

Also selected to head each of the Standing Committees are: Committee on Civil Liberties and Tradition, Delegate Mason Albert of Pohnpei was selected Chairman and Delegate Camillo Noket of Chuuk Vice President. Chairing the Committee on Finance and Revenue is Delegate Peter Sitan of Chuuk with Delegate Tendy T. Liwy of Pohnpei as Vice Chairman. Selected to head the Committee on Style and Arrangement is Delegate Salomon Saimon of Pohnpei and Delegate James A. Naich of Chuuk as Vice Chairman. For the Committee on Government Structure and Function, delegate Victor Nabeyan of Yap was selected Chairman and delegate Akillino Susaia of Pohnpei as Vice President.  Lastly, but not the least, delegate Yosyln G. Sigrah of Kosrae was selected Chairperson for the Committee on General Provision with delegate Andy Choors of Yap as Vice Chairman.